the:behavioral:lab

Social Consequences of Unforced Compliance: Reluctantly Joining Social Media

Twitter was always for overshare-ers to me. Instagram was wannabe creative-types without effort or talent. Klout? The attention whore’s measuring stick. One week ago, I started using all of those. After 7 or so days of being an oversharing, wannabe creative-type, attention whore I’ve noticed interesting behavior and changes in attitudes.

My social media awakening was less abrupt than I let on. I had a Friendster and LiveJournal since 2003. I was also an early MySpace and Facebook adopter. The purpose of these tools was to connect personally with friends and family. Facebook still serves that purpose to me. I live far from virtually everyone I’ve ever known, and it’s nice to know they exist. Facebook is not an external tool to me though. When a friends account becomes a marketing extension of the company they work for, the prejudice (and pride) run deep.

My current thrust was spurred on by a Professor’s (Pete McGraw) repeated discussions about the importance of external visibility for research. Projects used to be important based on citation counts. In the future, real-world impact is likely to be of much greater importance. This wasn’t entirely new to me, but my thinking previously was, “Well, I’ll be super impactful when I come up with my popular audience book idea.”

In the span of about five minutes my thoughts went from, “I should probably update my blog more regularly” to “Maybe also dust off the dormant Twitter account and broadcast the blog better.” Then the ball started rolling really fast. “I guess I should look at my Klout score and see if improving it leads to more people reading the blog.” “Instagram impacts Klout a lot? I said never, but since the app is free let’s go for it.”

Festinger’s Cognitive Consequences of Forced Compliance basically proposed that being forced to commit an act, given certain conditions, changes attitudes to be in line with the behavior. Since my behavior wasn’t forced, did my attitudes change in those few minutes which changed my behavior or does voluntarily changing behavior lead to the same (or stronger) attitude change compared to unforced compliance?

I don’t really desire to answer that question. All I know is the attitudes certainly changed. I enjoy having additional channels to interact with friends. I enjoy cultivating a professional online persona. I enjoy seeing a larger readership of my blog.

Self-Reflective Things I’ve Learned Thus Far

  • I am old. I realize this is a very cliched joke to make when you in your twenties and comparing yourself to teenagers, so that’s not really what I am doing. Instead, I’m making the slightly less cliched joke of pointing out when you are becoming everything you made fun of your parents about. Learning the norms of social networks is difficult. Sometimes I have these out of body experiences where I’m looking at myself like I’m watching a child learning to ice skate (or a grown 27 year old man who grew up in New England and never learned to skate learn to skate… blog pending). Luckily I’m cognizant of this, so I’m not too grandpa-on-facebook-like.
  • Instagram is not nearly as douchey as I had always thought. I’ve always felt like I don’t document important events enough (note this is nothing like the recent research in over-documenting… I don’t even have pictures from my honeymoon up the California coast), and Instagram provides a way to do that with double the positive reinforcement — friends connect, Klout score increases. Side note: Headlines like this one recent posted on Instagram’s twitter account will always make me roll my eyes: “Top 10 Photographers [really???] on Instagram”
  • Interestingly, after joining Instagram and Klout, I felt the need to make fun of that fact. Internally, I apparently couldn’t accept the statement “I’m joining Instagram.” It had to be something like, “Even I think I’m crazy and stupid, but I’m joining Instagram anyway.” This is probably already documented, but the need for some semblance of attitudinal or behavioral consistency even when you are performing a completely inconsistent action seems like an interesting phenomenon (assuming its not just me).
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Social Consequences of Unforced Compliance: Reluctantly Joining Social Media

  1. got you book marked to look at new things you post…|

Leave a Reply

